5 Comments
author

This week I am taking a social media break from all forms of social media except for Pinterest. That's where all my recipes are, lol!

For me, social media has been great for connection. I have made friend's on the platforms and I do find I am generally encouraged. However, as a writer, I often feel like I am robbing Peter to pay Paul. So much energy goes into generating content for social media which takes energy away from the longer form writing I would like to do. The hamster wheel of social media can be depleting and even with my current boundaries around social media (more discussion on this later), I realize that I need longer breaks on a regular basis.

I am looking forward to less input and more quiet this week. I pray this week of quiet will help me hear God and my own voice much clearer.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by Colette Eaton

I decided to read the comments before posting—this May be a cop out—but I agree whole heartedly with what Janell wrote, word for word! I would add that one thing I have especially struggling with as of late is the “influencer” consumerism of social media. I’m getting hungry eyes for all if the pretty, fun things I see and I fall into the trap of impulsive buying at a time that I should be frugal. I’m looking forward to less “influence”, and being a better steward of the time that have, especially with my boys.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! Totally, Barbie. Can you believed I've actually bought sock from Instagram!? I mean, they are great socks but honestly, you make such a great point. I am adding this to my list of things I am thankful to be away from for the week!

Expand full comment

Thank you for initiating this colette! This week I'll be taking a break from all platforms of social media. Usually, (mostly instagram) is a great creativity outlet for me - photography and short form writing is fun for me. But when I'm not intentional with it, i use at as an escape. Usually from stressful in-the-moment situations. Which, I've noticed, causes me to stunt the emotional cycle I'm trying to escape! Ugh.

I also have a strength for input, but too much makes me feel distracted, purposeless in my day to day life, and conflicted reading too many personal "opinions" , stories, facts, etc.

I'm looking forward to a quieter head, more intention in my day and clarity in my writing.

Expand full comment
author

I totally get reaching for your phone in stress. I find that I often do it when I'm bored!

Expand full comment